Muscat grapes – a hint at ambrosia?

It’s been quite awhile since I’ve posted, and unfortunately for those of you who actually read this, I’m not going to fulfill any high expectations here.  I recently started a job and an online course to prepare for my ‘real’ job coming up in the fall – teaching English in Spain. I haven’t had the time or inclination to write or cook for awhile after throwing around plates of food and the dirty dishes of strangers.  Yes, I’m waitressing again to save up to jaunt on over to Europe.

I’ll talk more about Spain later, but for now I just want to put up a few pictures that I took a month ago.  There is no recipe here, just pure hedonistic joy in the flavors that can be found, if you have your eyes out.

Muscat grapes.

Unfortunately, because I’m super slow on the uptake this month, muscat grape season is pretty much over.  I got my hands on my first bunch of the season at Pike Place Market in Seattle, in March. We get ours imported from Chile, but they are super delicate and kind of expensive.  They are deeeelicious, though.

A muscat grape is definitely a sensual experience – the crisp skin splitting at the pressure of your teeth, the sweetness of the flesh spreading across your tongue as your eyes flutter closed. Oh yes. This fruit must belong to the gods.  I don’t like very sweet things – I find ripe mangoes rather cloying and most melons to be equally offputting. But the muscat grape has more than one level of flavor – it’s the complexity in that tiny little like package that gives me pause, forcing me to savor the costly little moment.

It gets even better if you add in cheese.

I had a very creamy Belgian blue cheese.  The forceful sharpness of the cheese took any sickly sweetness from the cheese, and the textures dance a sexy flamenco on your palate.  Add a a little toasted baguette and you better be sitting down.  So. No recipe. Just pure fabulousness that is best enjoyed in private so as not to frighten non-foodies.

One more.

Oh yeah.  Muscat grapes are succulent – in flavor, texture, even in visual feasting.  The striations of color seduce the eye and tempt the appetite – at least these will be fulfill their part of the bargain.

Since I’m such a loser blogger and muscats are out of season, click here to buy some muscat candy.  If you are in the Pacific Northwest, you can pick it up at Uwajimaya or Daiso.  Not the same, but ambrosia must be rare to fully prized.  I tell myself that, at least.

0 Responses to “Muscat grapes – a hint at ambrosia?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hey, I'm Desa. I've been bouncing between the Pacific Northwest and Sevilla, Spain in the last few years and from tiny apartment to tiny apartment. I cook mainly for one, which means some potentially boring meals, but here I'll be sharing the food that excites me. Feel free to offer suggestions, commiseration, or desires. And thanks for coming by!

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


Beartravelers

Gourmet Life of the Bear Travelers

Vicky's Photos

The place where I put some of my favorite pictures

Cocktails, 365

Your home for Cocktails, Booze, Beer, and Mixology

