Vacation!

Hey everyone.  I have been out of the country for a couple of weeks and showing my mother around my current adoptive city.  So, there really hasn’t been time to prepare anything – to read or eat.  Today was the first time I’d cooked anything in over three weeks – otherwise it was fast food, restaurant food, prepared by other people, or a bowl of cereal eaten over the sink at midnight.  Today we made a cold potato and tuna salad so we wouldn’t have to heat up the kitchen too much – it’s hitting 113 degrees F (45 C) here day after day so you start thinking really hard about that whole ambient heat thing.

So until I get my bags packed and back to the USA for the summer, I leave you with a picture or two of food that I’ve been eating in the meantime, in Germany. Not pictured is weinerschnitzel, schweineschnitzel, and käsespätzle, because I was just to busy eating it!   In a couple of weeks I’ll finally be able to share with y’all the super simple recipe for berenjenas con miel!  Prep steps would probably be more accurate.

This is a picture of a cup of bad coffee in a great setting.  We caught a table in front of the glockenspiel in Munich before it went off, but I guess because they had such a good location they didn’t have to worry about competitive pricing or internationally good coffee.  German coffee is crap.  Spanish and Italian coffee great, French coffee good, English coffee ranges all over the place. I was happy to get home.

Now, German pastries?  Great.  This is a berliner.  In the end, it was not JFK, but a powdered donut with raspberry jam inside.  A nice touch was that they used superfine sugar instead of powdered sugar, something that I accidentally discovered makes a better Swedish Teacake.

Highlight of the trip.  This is at the Hofbrauhaus in Munich.  The beer was great, the pretzel was fresh, and the mustard was the best I’ve ever eaten.  It was a stone ground honey mustard and I never got my hands on some, though we looked in several stores.  Oh well.  I’ll just have to go back.

0 Responses to “Vacation!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hey, I'm Desa. I've been bouncing between the Pacific Northwest and Sevilla, Spain in the last few years and from tiny apartment to tiny apartment. I cook mainly for one, which means some potentially boring meals, but here I'll be sharing the food that excites me. Feel free to offer suggestions, commiseration, or desires. And thanks for coming by!

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


Beartravelers

Gourmet Life of the Bear Travelers

Vicky's Photos

The place where I put some of my favorite pictures

Cocktails, 365

Your home for Cocktails, Booze, Beer, and Mixology

