He says end-daiv, she says ahn-deev.

Endives.  I still have yet to settle on a pronunciation.  I like the ahndeev idea, but I think that I would be ridiculed for being too snobby.   Luckily, I can avoid the situation currently, because here, they are endibias.   I know exactly how to pronounce that sucker. Unfortunately there is a secondary problem: both endibia and endivia are accepted spellings.

But you still say it the same. Spanish for the win.

This post almost didn’t get written, because it is face-meltingly hot here in my apartment without AC.  It’s 9 PM and I’m still sweating, but rationing out my fan time because utilities are really expensive.  I’ve covered that before, in other seasons.   The upshot is that the hot laptop is not really appetizing.

It’s interesting, because I realized that my dreams of living in Sevilla forever and ever were rather naive given the fact that the first week that the spring/summer heat comes, I become an absolutely evil, irritable excuse for a human.  It’s the Pacific Northwest in me.  So I guess my core body temperature has the dire economic crisis to thank for its future relief.

This recipe is obviously from a few months ago when I wasn’t furiously dead set against turning the oven on.  I was searching for more vegetables to work into my winter, early spring diet that weren’t frozen, and I saw that endives were on sale.  So I snatched those suckers up.  We’re all broke, here, people.  So it wasn’t until I got home with my spoils that I realized that I have never prepared an endive.

But that’s what the internet is for. I found several recipes, all of which were delicious. For now, I’m just going to share one – the simplest.

Now, wait, it can actually get simpler.  A lot of people just make it the basis of a salad, or use the leaves as edible spoons at cocktail parties.  So there is that.  But these are going to be cooked – roasted, actually.

Endives have an intriguing flavor and texture.  They are not lettuce like – they are firm and have attitude.  They are rather bitter, which is why roasting is an attractive way of preparing them.  Afterwards, the bitterness is subsumed into a more complex flavor profile, bittersweet and almost smokey at times.  They will still be slightly crunchy, too, so they have a lovely mouthfeel.  Let’s get started.

Roasted Endives

Recipe from here (they have better pictures, FYI) and then cut down to serve two. Me, and me tomorrow.

2 endives (if they are on the smaller side, grab another)

Olive oil, about a tablespoon

Salt and pepper to taste

Balsamic vinegar for dressing later.

Preheat the oven to 425°F or 220°C.

Cut your endives in half lengthwise – do not trim off the base of the stalk.  The leaves will fall all over the place.  Leave it on and just don’t eat it in the end run.  Lay them out, cut side up, on a cookie sheet, or better yet, in a casserole dish (we are seriously lacking in kitchen implements).

Drizzle with olive oil.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Stick in oven.

Roast for fifteen minutes.  If you’d like, flip them for even roasting.  It’s not necessary.  I usually have wandered off to do some other chore.  Roast for another ten to fifteen minutes.

You’ll know you’ve done it right if the edges of the endive are burnt crispy and curled up – this is a good sign.  Finish the job by drizzle part two: balsamic vinegar.  The tart-sweet goes wonderfully with the bitter-sweet.  Endives pair well with white meat.

Go forth and eat.  You made vegetables. Be proud.

 

 

 

0 Responses to “He says end-daiv, she says ahn-deev.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hey, I'm Desa. I've been bouncing between the Pacific Northwest and Sevilla, Spain in the last few years and from tiny apartment to tiny apartment. I cook mainly for one, which means some potentially boring meals, but here I'll be sharing the food that excites me. Feel free to offer suggestions, commiseration, or desires. And thanks for coming by!

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


Beartravelers

Gourmet Life of the Bear Travelers

Vicky's Photos

The place where I put some of my favorite pictures

Cocktails, 365

Your home for Cocktails, Booze, Beer, and Mixology

