Copycat Cocktail

Somehow, by being disgustingly lucky, I have managed to develop a rather snooty palate. This is particularly true in terms of my drinking style.  No matter what the liquid is, the more expensive it is, the more it attracts me.  I love those stupid minted waters, the fancy teas, microbrews with strange flavors, fancy wines, and pretty much anything with bubbles in it.  If it’s foreign or imported?  Even more alluring.

So when I go out on the town to drink, I’m always looking for something that I can’t make at home myself.  I have one expensive drink and I nurse it as long as possible, for as I’ve said before, I’m pretty much broke off my ass.  The old saying “champagne tastes on a beer budget” is very, very true for me at this stage in my life.  But that doesn’t get rid of the craving for expensive things.  That’s where friends and family with kitchen toys come to the rescue.

There’s a bar in Tacoma, WA called the Crown Bar.  They have a lot of cocktails featuring fresh juices, seasonal flavors, and homemade syrups and infusions.  It’s hands down one of my favorite bars in Tacoma, and I’ve dragged quite  few people there to feel hip with me.  And also to drink.

In the summertime, they have a specialty drink called the Field of Greens, featuring limeade, gin, and fresh celery juice.  Yeah, that’s right.  How does it taste?  Green.  And very refreshing.  Just before I went off to Spain, I put on my saddest face and attempted to manipulate the waiter into giving me the recipe, seeing as I would find it rather difficult to drop by to linger over my glass and gossip with my girlfriends.  As they are very nice people, he attempted to fulfill my desire – but he couldn’t remember the exact measurements.  So, I scribbled on the back of a receipt the following description:

Field of Greens

Celery juice (strongest flavor)

Limeade

Gin (subtle afterburn)

Besides this list there was a hastily scrawled arrow pointing down with the further explanation: “Decreasing strength of flavor.”

Well, ok.  The first thing I would need to recreate this in the safety of my own home was celery juice.  And this broke person has no juicer.

But my brother and sister-in-law do.  As of two weeks ago.  Life is good.

They have kitties, too. Also a plus.

A week or so ago, I started in on another one of my multiple-visit odysseys up north.  When you are going to drive for over an hour one way to have coffee or lunch with someone, you usually want to make it count.  Since I had made a date with my friend Meenakshi, I called up my sister-in-law, Alida, to double down on my reconnecting with people.  I was reminded why we are friends as well as legally forceably connected by my brother’s decision-making when she suggested that we make juice. It was my self-serving nature that knew I was going to be mulching celery while we were at it.

One thing about these industrial juicers: they are super fun.  You put in something edible, and it comes out juice.

It comes out juice and this strange, bone-dry veggie/fruit byproduct.  We made some green juice made out of a million things as well, but as our version that day came out tasting more like parsley than anything, I’m going to wait to post that until we get it right.

But pure celery juice is hard to screw up.  To the mixology lab!

Quick suggestion: if you are going to make this, juice the celery just before using.  The next day, it was not as appetizing.  Ultimately I played up the limeade more than the celery juice.  My version is not as good as the Crown Bar original, and I can’t decide if it’s because I haven’t had it for two years and can’t remember it clearly, or they just have some magical cocktail shaker. Either way, it was still delicious.

Field of Greens Knockoff

1 part gin

1 part celery juice

2 parts limeade

 

Add all ingredients to a cocktail shaker with plenty of ice.  Shake it like a polaroid picture.  Pour.  Enjoy and pretend it’s healthy.

0 Responses to “Copycat Cocktail”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hey, I'm Desa. I've been bouncing between the Pacific Northwest and Sevilla, Spain in the last few years and from tiny apartment to tiny apartment. I cook mainly for one, which means some potentially boring meals, but here I'll be sharing the food that excites me. Feel free to offer suggestions, commiseration, or desires. And thanks for coming by!

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


Beartravelers

Gourmet Life of the Bear Travelers

Vicky's Photos

The place where I put some of my favorite pictures

Cocktails, 365

Your home for Cocktails, Booze, Beer, and Mixology

