Obvious repost – of myself

Hey everyone.  I’ve managed to get some hours of work in the two weeks – from my parents.  Both jobs involve sitting for long hours in front of the computer, which does not bode well for my thesis, let alone my blog.  So I do have quite a few pictures lying around, waiting to be hussied up and stuck on this page, but they are going to have to wait until I have enough patience to sit out and think how best to entertain the almost twenty people I have somehow duped into following me.

In the meantime, I’d like to share an interesting pairing of two recipes I’ve covered in the past. All thanks to my new favorite Mexican restaurant, Poquitos.

Poquitos is in Capitol Hill, in Seattle, and besides having ridiculously flavorful and richly layered main dishes, their cocktails are equally as impressive.  The only thing we didn’t try was dessert – because Alex is defective and can’t have gluten.  But their offerings were intriguing enough for me to try to recreate an Alex-friendly version at home: churros with cajeta.

I’ve talked about how much I love churros before.  How important they are to Spanish culture, how they are the best drunk food, the minor differences between Mexican and Spanish churros, etc., etc. I’ve even come up with a quick gluten-free minor adaptation of the classic Madrid churro – because of the aforementioned defective man.

And longer ago, I tried my hand at cajeta – when Michelle and I dipped our toes into the world of the Seattle Edible Book Festival.  If all goes well, we’ll go for round two in the spring. Cajeta is a Mexican caramel sauce, for those who don’t want to click that link – I make it with goats’ milk because I like the complexity and tanginess of the result, but it makes my mom sad.  Poquitos makes it with cows’ milk.  Yes, I asked.

So, this shortish post hasn’t got any recipes in it – they are in those links up above.  Just a suggestion: this combination is brilliant.  Sheer genius.

I still couldn’t find a star tip large enough (I’m just going to buy a churro maker in October) so my churros are still round instead of ridgy, but we rolled them in cinnamon sugar and had at it.  I couldn’t make churros without chocolate, but we left it on the stove too long and it got too thick.  So concentrate on the cajeta.  If only they had had ridges to give all that deliciousness some footholds (sauceholds? Cajeta doesn’t really have feet, nor legs like wine).  Even so, I thought the cinnamon sugar would clash with the caramel or at least distract.  I started out with the Spanish, rather more naked churro, but I quickly ran out and started dipping into Alex’s share of Mexican style churros, since he had a whole batch to himself.  And FYI?  All those flavors played nice.  It was a fiesta in my mouth.

I thought I was rather traditionalist with my chocolate con churros.  But this…this has oozed its way into my heart and is staying there.

So go to Poquitos and order them, or make them yourself.  Just eat them.  This way. Because yum.

0 Responses to “Obvious repost – of myself”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hey, I'm Desa. I've been bouncing between the Pacific Northwest and Sevilla, Spain in the last few years and from tiny apartment to tiny apartment. I cook mainly for one, which means some potentially boring meals, but here I'll be sharing the food that excites me. Feel free to offer suggestions, commiseration, or desires. And thanks for coming by!

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


Beartravelers

Gourmet Life of the Bear Travelers

Vicky's Photos

The place where I put some of my favorite pictures

Cocktails, 365

Your home for Cocktails, Booze, Beer, and Mixology

