Bye Bye Spain

I had a little post about roasted tomatoes in the works, but then I got lazy and didn’t finish it before taking off for Spain for my Master’s wrap up.  That’s all done with, and now I’m on my way back the the Pacific NW to try to cobble a new life together.  Again.  I’m actually sitting in the Madrid airport, trying to take advantage of the expensive little mobile modem I had to pick up.

A sick bitter orange tree was blooming out of season, allowing me to get one more whiff of azahar in October. My friend said it was Sevilla saying goodbye to me.

Spain has had a huge impact on my life, and therefore on my cooking, and therefore on this here blog.  Though I’m leaving Spain, and I don’t know when I’ll have the money or time to travel back, the imprint it has made on my palate and recipe choice isn’t going away anywhere soon.  I just wanted to give you all a heads up that the direction of this blog will shift in response to my geographical shift, and I don’t know how.  Perhaps I’ll finally unpack all of those cookbooks I’ve had in boxes and try to justify my addiction to pretty food pictures by actually using them.

But I also bought a ton of cookbooks in Spain.  And I’ve been frenetically eating everything I know I’ll miss back in the States.  So that means that Spanish food will most definitely still be an important element around here.  Not to worry.  In that vein, here are some crappy phone pictures of food I ate in the last week and a half that I’m determined to make at home.

Oh, and I also bought the Gourmet Holiday Special Edition at the airport, so that’s awesome sauce.  Now.  Phone pictures.

These are montaditos of delicious Iberian pork fillet (secreto) with Iberian ham and a quail egg.  I won’t be able to get that high quality of a fillet, but I will be able to get the rest of it.  We’ll see what happens.  This is at the Cervecería 61 in the Alameda de Hércules in Sevilla.

This is solomillo a la pimienta, or pork loin in pepper sauce.  I’ve mastered this.  It will be appearing soon.

Little shrimp “hamburgers” with alioli.  Both this and the solomillo are from the Blanca Paloma in Triana.

A white asparagus flamenquín (deep fried ham roll) with almond sauce.  I have no clue where this was.  Somewhere behind the Plaza del Duque.  It was raining so hard we just ran for cover.

And of course, chicharrones, or cracklings.  These are absolutely wonderful.  Pictured at El Chispa in Sanlúcar la Mayor.

Well.  I have to get on a plane.  If there is some Spanish recipe that you’d like to see pop up here, let me know!  Or recipes that you’d like to share, those are always welcome.  Catch you on the flipside.

 

0 Responses to “Bye Bye Spain”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hey, I'm Desa. I've been bouncing between the Pacific Northwest and Sevilla, Spain in the last few years and from tiny apartment to tiny apartment. I cook mainly for one, which means some potentially boring meals, but here I'll be sharing the food that excites me. Feel free to offer suggestions, commiseration, or desires. And thanks for coming by!

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


Beartravelers

Gourmet Life of the Bear Travelers

Vicky's Photos

The place where I put some of my favorite pictures

Cocktails, 365

Your home for Cocktails, Booze, Beer, and Mixology

