Summer to Fall Transition Time: Roasted Tomatoes

Well, it’s fall, and this post is late. Sorry.

One of my favorite things about summer is the fresh, ripe tomato.

Even with globalization allowing us to have year-round tomato-like objects, there is no replacement for in-season acidic, sweet tomatoes.  Spain had delicious, delicious tomatoes, and I went from tolerating them from eating one a day, at least.  No joke.  Just sliced up with a little olive oil, salt, pepper, and white wine vinegar.

So when I saw this recipe from one of my favorite food writers, David Lebovitz, I felt that he was speaking to my need for delicious tomatoes outside of summer.  He offers up the suggestion of oven roasting them to intensify their flavor, and then freeze the suckers.   He was right.

Oven Roasted Tomatoes by David Lebovitz

Original recipe here.

2 Tbsp olive oil
1 clove garlic, peeled and thinly sliced
2 tsp thyme
2 tsp rosemary
Salt and pepper
1 lb tomatoes

Preheat the oven to 325º.

In a baking dish, mix the olive oil with the garlic and spices.

Cut the tomatoes in half, and remove the stems.  Toss them in the seasoned oil and lay them cut side down in the dish.

Roast the tomatoes for two hours or until they are soft and wilted, starting to wrinkle.

Now eat them. They keep for a few days in the fridge, and up to six months frozen. 

How to eat them?

David Lebovitz, original author, suggests tossing them with feta.  This is brilliant.

Late night photography = terrible lighting, sorry.

I have also mixed them in with green beans and stuck them in grilled cheese sandwiches.

Basically what I’m saying is that you really can’t go wrong with these.  I keep them frozen in single serving packets so I have something that tastes gourmet always at hand.

4 Responses to “Summer to Fall Transition Time: Roasted Tomatoes”


  1. 1 trixfred30 November 4, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    Chuck some olives in with the feta and there you have my wife’s favourite with-wine snack!

    • 2 desasdishes November 5, 2012 at 4:00 am

      Yep, I’ve done it that way, too! And absolutely, with some crunchy crackers? Best impromptu cocktail hour.

  2. 3 Caroline November 5, 2012 at 3:11 am

    Thems some pretty awesome photos this time, Desa. I am craving tomatoes right now!

  3. 4 Alfredia November 7, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    Thanks for posting this.. It’s been a pleasure to read 🙂


Leave a Reply

Hey, I'm Desa. I've been bouncing between the Pacific Northwest and Sevilla, Spain in the last few years and from tiny apartment to tiny apartment. I cook mainly for one, which means some potentially boring meals, but here I'll be sharing the food that excites me. Feel free to offer suggestions, commiseration, or desires. And thanks for coming by!

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers


Beartravelers

Gourmet Life of the Bear Travelers

Vicky's Photos

The place where I put some of my favorite pictures

Cocktails, 365

Your home for Cocktails, Booze, Beer, and Mixology

